Blake Snell and Gerrit Cole Win the 2023 Cy Young Awards in MLB

Blake Snell and Gerrit Cole Win Cy Young Awards

Former Padres Starter and Yankees Ace Recognized

Major League Baseball announced on Wednesday the winners of the prestigious Cy Young Award for the 2023 season. Blake Snell, the former San Diego Padres starter, was awarded in the National League, while Gerrit Cole, the talented pitcher from the New York Yankees, received the honor in the American League.

Snell, who is set to become one of the most sought-after free agent pitchers in the upcoming 2024 campaign, secured his second Cy Young Award. His first win came in 2018 when he was the ace of the Tampa Bay Rays.

After leading MLB in ERA, Blake Snell caps off his incredible season with his second Cy Young Award. pic.twitter.com/YfDHqAhAJ5

The left-hander now joins an elite group of pitchers who have won at least one Cy Young Award in both leagues. This exclusive club includes Gaylord Perry, Pedro Martínez, Randy Johnson, Roger Clemens, Roy Halladay, and Max Scherzer, according to information from MLB in Spanish.

Snell’s impressive season statistics include a record of 14-9, a league-leading 2.25 ERA, 234 strikeouts, the fewest walks in the National League with 99, and a 1.189 WHIP in 180 innings pitched over 32 starts.

With 204 points, Snell outvoted Logan Webb (86) and Zac Gallen (68) to secure the Cy Young Award.

Gerrit Cole, the standout starter for the New York Yankees, also had a remarkable season, finishing with a 2.63 ERA, 222 strikeouts, 48 walks, and a 0.981 WHIP in 209.0 innings pitched across 33 starts.

Read More:  Barcelona's Julián Araujo set to join Las Palmas on loan for the season

The Bronx Mules’ ace also recorded two shutouts and earned an invitation to the All-Star Game, all while winning his first Cy Young Award.

Stand clear, Gerrit Cole wins his first career Cy Young Award. 🚂 pic.twitter.com/8YHyhegJye

Cole’s outstanding performance earned him the distinction of being the second pitcher in Yankees history, alongside Ron Guidry, to win the award unanimously. He received 30 first-place votes and accumulated a total of 210 points.

Sonny Gray (104 points) and Kevin Gausman (82) secured second and third place, respectively, in the voting.

Cole’s achievement adds him to the esteemed list of Yankee pitchers who have won a Cy Young Award, including Bob Turley (1958), Whitey Ford (1961), Sparky Lyle (1977), Ron Guidry (1978), and Roger Clemens (2001).


2 Responses

  1. “Congratulations to Blake Snell and Gerrit Cole for their well-deserved Cy Young Awards! A testament to their stellar performances, dedication, and undeniable talent. Looking forward to watching their continued success in the MLB!”

  2. “Congratulations to Blake Snell and Gerrit Cole for their well-deserved recognition as the recipients of the 2023 Cy Young Awards in MLB. Both pitchers showcased incredible talent and undeniable skill throughout the season. The future looks bright for these exceptional athletes!”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest Posts

Popular Posts